The Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act 2010 brings together a raft of protections against discrimination and duties for public bodies in a single Act.

NHS North Lincolnshire CCG recognise our duties within the Equality Act to:

  • Elimination of all unlawful discrimination– including harassment and victimisation and any other conduct prohibited by the act.
  • Advancing equality of opportunity– between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it.
  • Fostering good relations– between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it.

Having due regard means considering the above in all the decision making, including:

  • How the organisation acts as an employer
  • Developing, reviewing and evaluating policies
  • Designing, delivering and reviewing services
  • Procuring and commissioning
  • Providing equitable access to services.


Equality is ensuring individuals or groups of individuals are treated fairly and equally and no less favourably, specific to their needs.

Diversity aims to recognise, respect and value people’s differences to contribute and realise their full potential by promoting an inclusive culture for all.

Discrimination is defined in the Equality Act 2010 as less favourable treatment because of a protected characteristic.

Protected characteristic is a term used in the Equality Act 2010 to describe who is protected by the Act. The protected characteristics defined by the Equality Act are: age, sex, race (including ethnicity and nationality), disability, sexual orientation, religion or belief, gender reassignment, pregnancy and maternity and marriage or civil partnership.

The Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) provides definitions for each protected characteristic